Sylhet Sixers won by 5 runs

Sylhet Sixers won by 5 runs against Chittagong Vikings at the first match of the day at Mirpur. Nicholas Pooran had the Man of the match title.

Winning the toss Sylhet Captain David Warner decided to bat first. But Robbie Frylink picked opener Liton Das at the first over of the inning. Nasir Hossain and Sabbir Rahman disappointed Sylhet within 6 runs on the scoreboard. Then another opener and Captain David Warner faced the Chittagong bowling attack with Afif Hossain. Their 71 runs partnership helped much to rescue from the disaster.

Khaled Ahmed picked Afif Hossain at 45 runs from 28 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes. Then Nicholas Pooran came to the wicket and companied the captain. They made 70 runs partnership before Warner got beaten to Frylink. He scored 59 from 47 with 2 fours and a six. So, Pooran scored 52 runs from 32 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes and reached Sylhet to a fighting score of 168 for 5 wickets runs from 20 overs. Pacer Robbie Frylink picked 3 wickets.

To the target of 169 runs, Chittagong lost Hard Heater Mohammad Shehzad at 6 runs on the first over at Taskins delivery. Then another opener Camaron Delport made 57 runs with another hot cake Mohammad Ashraful. But Camaron got run out and Taskin picked Ashraful. Then another Chittagong player failed to steer the team.
But seventh batsman Robbie Frylink was at the reverse side. He scored 44* from 24 deliveries with a four and 4 sixes. Their inning ended at 163 runs for 7 wickets from 20 overs. Taskin Ahmed mainly destroyed the batting line-up picking 4 wickets.

Finally, Sylhet Sixers won by 5 runs. But BPL got an expected contesting high scoring match today.

N.B: Collected Pictures.

Facebook Comments