New Zealand won the ODI series too

New Zealand won the ODI series too against Sri Lanka. They beat Sri Lanka by 115 runs and won the three-match ODI series by 3-0.

Winning the toss Sri Lankan Captain Lasith Malinga offered the New Zealand to bat first. Two Kiwi opener couldn’t start comfortably. Captain Malinga picked them in 16 and 31 runs on the scoreboard. Then Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson made a partnership of 115 runs. Williamson backed to the pavilion scoring 55 from 65 balls with 6 boundaries and an over the boundary.

Then Henry Nicholas made another partnership with Taylor. They made 154 partnership. Before Ross Taylor got beat to Malinga. His made 20th ODI century. His 137 runs inning from 131 balls had 9 fours and 4 sixes. To the other end, Henry Nicholls found his first ODI century today. He decorated his 127 runs inning from only 80 balls with 12 fours and 3 sixes. Which brought them a huge score of 364 runs.

Captain Lasith Malinga picked three wickets and Nuwan Pradeep picked a wicket for Sri Lanka.

To the target of this huge score, Sri Lanka started well. Two opener Nirashan Dickwella and Dhananjaya de Silva made 66 runs. Then Dhananjaya backed to the pavilion scoring 36 from 29 balls. Kusal Perera made 41 runs with Dickwella. Then batsmen were busy with the dressing room.

When Thisara Perera came to the wicket Sri Lanka was 117 runs for 4 wickets. He played another master class inning of 80 runs from 63 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes. When he got out to Lockie Ferguson then Sri Lanka needed 121 runs from 69 balls. But the rest four batsmen added 5 runs on the scoreboard.

Lockie Ferguson picked four wickets and Ish Sodhi had three.

Finally, New Zealand won the ODI series too and whitewashed Sri Lanka. Hope Sri Lanka will do well in the only T-20 in Auckland on 11th January at 06:00 GMT.

Facebook Comments