India beats New Zealand by 35 runs and the 5 match ODI series by 4-1

India beats New Zealand by 35 runs and the 5 match ODI series by 4-1 on Wellington. Though Ambati Rayudu missed his 4th ODI hundred for ten runs but bagged the man of the match title.

India Inning

Winning the toss India Captain Rohit Sharma opted to bat first. Two openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan went back to the pavilion by 12 runs on the scoreboard. Then Shubman Gill also followed the openers. Then wicket-keeper MS Dhoni also disappointed by 18 runs.

Rohit Sharma on early pickup

Losing 4 top orders India was close to repeating the 4th ODI then Ambati Rayudu made 98 runs with Vijay Shankar. As a result, India escaped from the fear of early closing. Though Vijay Shankar trapped on run out as scoring 45 runs from 64 runs 4 fours.

Ambati Rayudu scored 90 runs

Then Ambati Rayudu made another partnership of 74 runs with Kedar Jadhav. As Matt Henry picked Rayudu just 10 runs apart from his century. Ambati Rayudu’s 90 runs effective inning came from 113 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes. At 203 runs on the scoreboard, Kedar Jadhav also bold to Matt Henry, scoring 34 runs off 45 balls with 3 flours. That was enough for India beats New Zealand by 35 runs and the 5 match ODI series by 4-1

Trent Boult to MS Dhoni

Then Hadrik Pandya made a storm of 22 balls off 45 runs with a couple of fours and 5 sixes. India ended in 252 from 49.5 overs.

Matt Henry picked 4 wickets

Picking 4 wickets Matt Henry led the wicket-taking festival. Trent Boult also got three and companied his partner. James Neesham also got a wicket

New Zealand Inning

As the hosts, New Zealand got a target of 253 runs but they lost their opener Henry Nicholls by 18 runs. Another opener Colin Munro also walked for the pavilion at 37 runs on the scoreboard. By the wicket of Ross Taylor on the next over, New Zealand was in under pressure.

Kane Williamson failed to steer the team

Losing 3 wickets New Zealand was suffocating through but Kiwi Captain Kane Williamson and Tom Latham made 67 runs partnership together. At 105 runs on the scoreboard, scoring 39 runs from 3 fours Kiwi Captain Kane Williamson surrendered to Kedar Jadhav. Tom Latham lost his passion at scoring 37 runs from 49 balls with 3 fours.

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham failed to show the path

As both set batsmen’s wicket New Zealand fall into the batting disaster again. As James Neesham scored 44 runs from 32 balls with 4 fours and couple of sixes before an unwise run-out. Mitchell Santer scored 22 runs in the lowers order but that only reduced the difference of loss.

New Zealand inning in a picture

Yuzvendra Chahal picked 3 wickets for India and both Mohammad Shami and Hadrik Pandya couple of wickets. Kedar Jadhav and Bhubaneshwar Kumar had one each.

Man of the match

Ambati Rayudu won the man of the match

Ambati Rayudu, “It was very tough against a quality bowling attack. Was thinking we should take the game to 30th over without losing another wicket. Our only plan was to play the full fifty overs. Especially for people batting at four, five and six, you get opportunities only when the situation is tough. Don’t think setting totals has ever been an issue. That was a one-off game in Hamilton. Might face similar challenges in future. Great effort by our bowlers.”

try our mobile application and stay with us

Finally, India beats New Zealand by 35 runs and the 5 match ODI series by 4-1. That Zealand lost bilateral series after 14 years. Hope they’ll come back on the 1st t-20 in Wellington on the 6th February.

Facebook Comments